top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlivia Rafferty

Self-isolation week 5: plant-based super powers.

The photo featured in this week's post was taken in the summer of 2018, perhaps the best summer of my entire life. And a time in life that I dream about often, especially now that I'm stuck in quarantine.


It was taken on Arthur's seat, on a surprisingly hot day in June, while my best friend and I were overlooking the miniature city of Edinburgh. Back then, and up there, we both felt invincible. And because I had made it through school, and into university, I feel like this summer was the first time I had no idea where life was going to take me. That feeling of not knowing, of being completely vulnerable to the power of fate, was incredible.


But the feeling of not knowing what's going to happen now is very different. It's a lot scarier.


And while we can be as positive as we want in quarantine, it doesn't change the fact that even the experts, the politicians, the people who are usually giving us some reassurance, can't predict the future either.


So what do we turn to in these times of insecurity?


I personally throw myself into work, and count on the stability of one thing that fortunately, I still have: good food.


Luckily for me, I grew up in a household that supports my choices, and more importantly, a family that ate everything. So when I turned pescatarian eight years ago, it didn't take long for them to follow in my footsteps.


I turned plant-based January 2018, and this opened them up to another range of incredible types of food. Which again, whenever I came home for the holidays, they insisted on trying.


This January, after a successful fully-vegan Christmas, my mum took the plant-based leap too. Because of quarantine, she feels it's been even easier. The temptation of fresh fish dishes, or rich, creamy cheese risottos on restaurant menus no longer exists. She has turned our household plant-based without a word of resentment.


I guess I chose the right time to be stuck in my room for 14 days straight.


Heading into mid-spring, the fruit and vegetables Italian farms are producing are more juicy and colourful than ever. Everyday since I arrived here I have received breakfast and dinner on a tray, sitting alone for my meals. But every plate has been new, and every plate has been a perfect concoction of the right nutrients to live life under isolation.


As I stare out of my window, on day 11 of quarantine, I realise just how lucky I am. To be stuck in a house with a loving family of incredible cooks, to have a garden in full blossom to watch grow more alive everyday, and to have a sense of stability: knowing that if we continue to live life like this - my loved ones will always be safe and healthy.


Plants are a pretty awesome phenomenon.

5 views0 comments
bottom of page