top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlivia Rafferty

Self-isolation week 7: the sun keeps on shining.

Yes, even when the whole world is under lockdown.

Maybe not everywhere - but it definitely has been here in Milan. In fact, nature seems to be absolutely loving having no human interaction. It's pollinating season and the bees, the ladybirds, the regular birds, and the daisies are absolutely thriving.

This past week I have been cooking recipe after recipe, and looking after my family - catering after all their needs as they continue to work and attend school through the virtual world of zoom. But in the moments outside of that - I have been basking in the sunshine, making the most of the glorious weather we have been receiving.

It's times like these, in between the stressful load of coursework and the where-are-we-going-on-holiday panic, that I appreciate the home that I was blessed to grow up in.

With two gardens, and a balcony, and enough rooms to escape my sister when she drives me crazy - I couldn't really ask for more. My family have been extremely patient too, letting me experiment on them every dinnertime. And having my dog Rory means I can leave my house once a day.

But like many, I'm sure, I am getting a little tired of the same routine. Tired...or bored? I don't know.

---

Our Prime Minister announced last week that we will be entering 'Phase 2' on the 4th of May.

Which means, maintaining social distances, we will be allowed to exercise outdoors again.

Music to my ears.

As many runners might agree, no amounts of HIIT, yoga, or laps in the garden could replace the simple activity of outdoor running. No indoor machine could replicate the gentle touch of fresh air, the incredible sights of nature, or the sounds of leaves and gravel crunching under our trainers.

But what I'm missing the most is getting that runner's high. In times like this, where mental health is at its most vulnerable, I have been desperately seeking a place where I can think, where I can release my negative energy, or sentiments, and sadly - HIIT just isn't doing it for me.

So while keeping positive through cooking and getting pet therapy has worked occasionally in lockdown - I am so excited to get back out there.

But instead of stopping completely and waiting for that day - I have been making the most of my time "locked in". Who knows when we'll be forced to stay indoors ever again.

This week has made me realise that while we patiently await for the numbers to go down from the safety of our own homes - time isn't really stopping. We may have put our lives on pause, but planet Earth hasn't. And while we can keep waiting for things to get better - it doesn't mean we should just stop.

If anything, our mental health could benefit from taking this time to nurture ourselves through learning new skills, taking part in new activities, trying new recipes, or just stopping and basking in the sun. Instead of focusing on the things we can't do - we should explore that which we can.

So take a moment to make the most of the sun shining. Especially if you live in the UK, because we know that is a rarity.

11 views0 comments
bottom of page